Jan 27, 2015

Unleashed by Sophie Jordan {Review}

Unleashed by Sophie Jordan
(Uninvited, #2)
Release Date: February 24, 2015
Publisher: Harper Teen; 368 pages
Rating:
Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson's Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man.

Now on the run, Davy must decide whether she'll be ruled by the kill gene or if she'll follow her heart and fight for her right to live free. But with her own potential for violence lying right beneath the surface, Davy doesn't even know if she can trust herself.

If you have NOT read Uninvited please read with caution. There are some spoilers that were unavoidable. Proceed with caution . . .

Duologies are perfect for those who don’t like sticking with trilogies, or worse, series that are longer than three books. They’re also perfect for those who don’t like standalones. However; in this case, I might have preferred a standalone. This is coming from someone who is obsessed with Sean. Bringing in a new love interest was hard. I couldn’t find myself enjoying their moments together when all I kept thinking was “…but SEAN…”. It’s tough. All those swoon-worthy moments were anything but for me . . . I just didn’t feel that connection with Caden or even with Caden and Davy. Again, this could because my mind wouldn’t let me. I should add that it’s not that I didn’t like Caden, because I did. As a person, he was fantastic. Hell, he’d even be a guy I’d want to date but I couldn’t connect with the idea of him and Davy or where his feelings for her may have come from, you know?

The story itself wasn’t as exciting, either. One thing I did love was the little things in between each chapter. Some were conversations, some were emails, some were articles and some were even obituaries. I liked that and I can’t remember if it was like that in the first book but even if it was, I really really liked that. But that’s beside the point – it just wasn’t as exciting, engrossing or frankly, entertaining as the first one. I was so engrossed in Uninvited and I wanted, no, needed more. I guess sometimes when your expectations are so high, they never quite reach.

I found this book to be quite predictable, as well. I don’t think anything surprised me and that disappoints me. I predict things in a lot of books but there is always something that surprises me; not here, though.

Even with all that, it wasn’t bad, per say, it just wasn’t as good as the first. You can’t even call them close. Who knows, maybe someone will actually like it more than the first book? It’s all about what you like and matter of opinions but sadly, this was mine.

I will say, by the end of the book, I was okay. I came around to liking Caden and I was happy that mostly everyone was happy.

As much as this pains me, because of how much I loved Uninvited, this book was a complete and utter let down. Especially to those of us who were very fond of Sean; which is probably most of us.


Thank you so much to Hannah from The Irish Banana Review for allowing me to borrow this book. In turn, thank you so much to HarperCollins for allowing me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.

6 comments:

  1. Introducing a new love interest in the second book of a duology? Oigh, I'm not sure if I'm gonna be too keen in this book... what a bummer...
    But at least after your review I'll know to keep my expectations low and maybe won't be as disappointed as you were. Thank you Jessica!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Very jealous. I want this book. Didn't read much of your review as I don't want to be jaded before I read it though.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Jessica @ a GREAT readJanuary 27, 2015 at 3:30 PM

    Oh nice review! I read Uninvited soooo long ago, I struggle to remember things. I know I loved Sean, because Sean! He was there for Davy when everyone else abandoned her. Can't quite remember Caden, though it rings a distant bell...did he pop up in the end?

    And wait...why isn't Sean around?! Why is Davy falling for new boy?! What the what?!! I was lucky last year to have won one of Sophie's early author copies, and now having to wait until release day...unless I get realllllllllllyyyyyy lucky again, is going to be killer.

    Very nice review though!

    And yes, I can remember there being snippets of news articles, emails, etc in the first book! So you're right about that part! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm curious to see what you think now, especially if you go in with low expectations. I was so utterly disappointed. Why introduce a new love interest when the original one was working out just fine? *sigh* This review was hard for me because I went from absolutely loving the first book to wishing it was a standalone after reading the second :(

    ReplyDelete
  5. Caden was never in the first book. He's a completely new character...

    The good thing is, it comes out in a couple of weeks so the wait isn't too bad!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...